How can I update the TM with my translation?
Thread poster: kostas19

kostas19
Local time: 12:18
May 11, 2012

Hello all,

As I am new in Trados i would like to ask something simple.

Yesterday, i received a document and i analyzed it, then I translated it.

I use Trados Wordbench.

Thanks.

LyubovPodvigina
Local time: 13:18
English to Russian
TM May 12, 2012

kostas19,
after you've selected your language pair and TM for a new document you are about to translate, all meaningful translation units are automatically added to the selected TM.

kostas19
TOPIC STARTER
update 2 May 14, 2012

LyubovPodvigina wrote:

kostas19,
after you've selected your language pair and TM for a new document you are about to translate, all meaningful translation units are automatically added to the selected TM.

Many thanks for that.

One more question, if i am not the translator and i want to update an existing TM with new translations (for example if i work as a project manager), how is this done?

Miguel Carmona  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:18
English to Spanish
Just clean the file(s) in Workbench May 14, 2012

kostas19 wrote:

... if i am not the translator and i want to update an existing TM with new translations (for example if i work as a project manager), how is this done?

Kostas19,

If it is a Word document (which by now of course will be a bilingual document), in Workbench:
1) Select the TM you want
2) Clean the file(s). To do this, select Tools/Clean Up, and in the dialog box that appears add the file(s) whose translation units you want to update your TM with. Make sure that the "Update TM" radio button is checked.

Good luck,

kostas19
TOPIC STARTER
source and target file May 14, 2012

Miguel Carmona wrote:

kostas19 wrote:

... if i am not the translator and i want to update an existing TM with new translations (for example if i work as a project manager), how is this done?

Kostas19,