https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/227140-fuzzy_matches_in_tageditor_not_really_matches.html

Fuzzy matches in tageditor not really matches
Thread poster: Chris Dravers
Chris Dravers
Chris Dravers  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:50
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 16, 2012

Here I am referring to working in tageditor in the old Trados 2007. When accepting a job with a high percentage of fuzzy matches I then realise that in tageditor these matches are not really matches because they don't have all the tags. It's quicker to retranslate the segment than to copy and paste all the tags, so I am having to work for less money. I've been translating with tageditor for about 7 years and have just tolerated this quirk. I suppose the same problem comes up when working with a ... See more
Here I am referring to working in tageditor in the old Trados 2007. When accepting a job with a high percentage of fuzzy matches I then realise that in tageditor these matches are not really matches because they don't have all the tags. It's quicker to retranslate the segment than to copy and paste all the tags, so I am having to work for less money. I've been translating with tageditor for about 7 years and have just tolerated this quirk. I suppose the same problem comes up when working with a ttx file in studio 2009, i.e. that the codes don't come up in the memory. Is that right? Anyone share this sentiment or is there something I should be doing that I'm not, I wonder!

Chris
Collapse

MikeTrans
MikeTrans
Germany
Local time: 13:50
Italian to German
+ ...
Accepting jobs with matches... Jun 16, 2012

There are 2 points to consider which are independant, at least for me:

1)
How do matches behave when I'm working?
If I'm not satisfied, I can chose the appropriate CAT tool.