Clare Swann
Clare Swann
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:42
Italian to English
+ ...
Jul 18, 2012

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Studio and finding it all quite confusing! I have question which is probably really basic but I would very much appreciate your help. I've been given a TM from a client which is a TMX file and cannot work out how to upload it to Studio. I've tried both adding and creating a TM but Studio just doesn't seem to detect the file at all so I can't upload it into Studio.
Am I missing something really obvious here?!

Thank you.

Claire Cox
Claire Cox
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
Tools, Upgrade TMs Jul 18, 2012

Hi Clare,

This came up the other day under a slightly different heading. This is what I suggested then, though there are probably other ways of doing it too:

I have a client who regularly sends me 2007 memories. You should be able to upgrade the memory, under Tools (I think). I usually save the TM in my usual folder, then click on Add file-based TMs under Upgrade translation memories. It should then guide you through the process - quite straightforward! It can take some
... See more
Hi Clare,

This came up the other day under a slightly different heading. This is what I suggested then, though there are probably other ways of doing it too:

I have a client who regularly sends me 2007 memories. You should be able to upgrade the memory, under Tools (I think). I usually save the TM in my usual folder, then click on Add file-based TMs under Upgrade translation memories. It should then guide you through the process - quite straightforward! It can take some time depending on the size of the memory; my original client advised me to go and make a cup of tea whilst it was doing its stuff!

Good luck,

Claire

[Edited at 2012-07-18 15:49 GMT]
Collapse

Clare Swann
Clare Swann
United Kingdom
Italian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
it worked! Jul 18, 2012