I can only see already translated text
Thread poster: Eric Lixey

Eric Lixey  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:45
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 31, 2012

I am new to Trados and I assume this is going to be a stupid question. I have the yearly subscription version and I loaded a word document that is about half translated using wordfast. Only the already translated part loads, and it loads perfectly with the target and source properly separated. How can I see the rest so I can translate what's not translated? I have been searching around but I can't seem to find an answer. Please help.

Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 10:45
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Is the rest of the text segmented? Jul 31, 2012

I'm assuming you mean that you've loaded the file to Studio. When a partially bilingual file is opened in Studio, only the parts that are segmented will be visible. You would need to first process the file in Trados 2007 Workbench to segment the rest of the segments before they become visible in Studio.

See here how to handle bilingual files in Studio:

http://noradiaz.blogspot.mx/2012/07/handling-bilingual-unclean-word-files.html

[Edited at 2012-07-31 04:03 GMT]

English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Where do I get workbench? Jul 31, 2012

How can I get work bench? DO I need to buy trados 2007? I only have the starter edition for Trados.

Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 10:45
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not sure, but... Jul 31, 2012

If it was included in your purchase, you should be able to download it from My Account-Downloads in the SDL website, but it's not called Workbench, it's called Trados 2007.

I'm not sure about the limitations of the starter edition, but from the product comparison in the link below it looks like it may not be able to handle bilingual Word files:

http://www.translationzone.com/en/translator-products/sdl-trados-studio-starter/#tab2

English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER