Mercedes Sánchez-Marco  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:35
Member (2009)
French to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 31, 2012

Hello!

I need some help with some Indesign files I don't know how to manage. I'm usually working with Trados 2009 and I've just installed Indesign CS6 in my computer, but I'm not an expert!.
I got some Indesign exchange format files (.idml) from my client, and I noticed Trados wouldn't let me translate them, I converted them into CS4, but still, I had the same problem. What shall I do?

Thank you for helping me.

Mercedes

Direct link Reply with quote

Lorenzo Cordini
English
Export IDCS4 to IDML Jul 31, 2012

Hi Mercedes,

you should export the *.indd files you created in CS4 to IDML to open them in Studio 2009.
Studio 2009 SP3 supports IDML files up to CS5.

Regards,

Lorenzo

Spain
Member (2009)
French to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
RE: Export IDCS4 to IDML Jul 31, 2012

Thank you Lorenzo. I've done it, and the files are charged in Trados, but I cannot "open for translation".

What was wrong in the process? I did it twice, and cheked I saved them as CS4 instead of CS6 .idml, but it didn't work. Shall I try a different format?

Thank you!

Mercedes

Maria Folque  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 08:35
German to Portuguese
+ ...
Use Memo Q Jul 31, 2012

Dear Mercedes,

InDesign files are always a big problem. (Either with Trados or InDesign)

The last time I've worked with inx files I've used Memo Q (you can download it from MemoQ site)

It is the only CAT tool I know that does not give you problems with inx. files.

You just have to pay attention to tags.

Good luck!

Maria

Spain
Member (2009)
French to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Maria Jul 31, 2012

Many thanks, Maria, I'm going to try with MemoQ.

Mercedes

Spain
Member (2009)
French to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Converting IDML into ZIP files Jul 31, 2012

Before trying MemoQ, I've seen this: