Help! Trados Studio 2009 is not doing anything it should :(
Thread poster: Emily Cox (medical and technical translator)

Emily Cox (medical and technical translator)
Germany
Local time: 01:37
German to English
Aug 16, 2012

Hi,

I'm new to Trados and still learning. Unfortunately it is not doing what it is supposed to. My main issue is;

I've created a project, added all appropriate TM's to it and opened a file - Trados is not pre-translating, which I expected. It should pre-translate based on the TM's added to the project, is that correct?

Right now I would just have to translate manually from scratch, which I don't want to do, as I have 5 TM's added, all of them related to the same topic

Any help will be most appreciated!

Regards,

Emily

Direct link Reply with quote

Anna Sarah Krämer Fazendeiro
Germany
Member (2011)
English to German
+ ...
Same topic - but are there identical phrases? Aug 16, 2012

Hi,

Are you sure that your TMs contain identical phrases ? If not, the TM can't pre-translate anything. In this case, you could check terms by searching the TM (mark the word and press F3). If there is a match, the TM should show it.

Hope that helps.

Regards
Anna

Germany
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks, but .. Aug 16, 2012

Thanks, there are identical phrases anyway thanks for the tip, but I cannot create termbases due to a limitation - it seems the terms' count is not enough to create a termbase, or the terms are not extracted during creation. Is there anything else I should check for?

Thanks,

Emily

Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 17:37
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sorry if this is too obvious... Aug 16, 2012

Where did you add the TMs?

New users sometimes get confused about where to do this.

TMs should be added to a project via Project Settings and not just open in the Translation Memories view.

Did you add your TMs to your Project/File via Project Settings? And is the Enabled checkbox checked?

Germany
German to English