Help! Trados Studio 2009 is not doing anything it should :(
Thread poster: Emily Cox (medical and technical translator)

Emily Cox (medical and technical translator)
Germany
Local time: 10:06
German to English
Aug 16, 2012

Hi,

I'm new to Trados and still learning. Unfortunately it is not doing what it is supposed to. My main issue is;

I've created a project, added all appropriate TM's to it and opened a file - Trados is not pre-translating, which I expected. It should pre-translate based on the TM's added to the project, is that correct?

Right now I would just have to translate manually from scratch, which I don't want to do, as I have 5 TM's added, all of them related to the same topicicon_frown.gif

Any help will be most appreciated!

Regards,

Emily

Anna Sarah Krämer Fazendeiro
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Same topic - but are there identical phrases? Aug 16, 2012

Hi,

Are you sure that your TMs contain identical phrases ? If not, the TM can't pre-translate anything. In this case, you could check terms by searching the TM (mark the word and press F3). If there is a match, the TM should show it.

Hope that helps.

Regards
Anna

Germany
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks, but .. Aug 16, 2012

Thanks, there are identical phrasesicon_frown.gif anyway thanks for the tip, but I cannot create termbases due to a limitation - it seems the terms' count is not enough to create a termbase, or the terms are not extracted during creation. Is there anything else I should check for?

Thanks,

Emily

Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 02:06
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sorry if this is too obvious... Aug 16, 2012

Where did you add the TMs?

New users sometimes get confused about where to do this.

TMs should be added to a project via Project Settings and not just open in the Translation Memories view.

Did you add your TMs to your Project/File via Project Settings? And is the Enabled checkbox checked?

Germany
German to English
TOPIC STARTER