Noob questions with WinAlign / Termbases and Multiterm / Translation Memories
Thread poster: ND1169
ND1169
Local time: 06:05
English to Japanese
Oct 4, 2012

Hello all! I'm a new translator that will probably be very active on this forum as I get used to things. I just installed the Trados Studio 2011 SP2 trial yesterday and am finally getting used to things. I am running into a couple of problems.

1. I'm looking to create a termbase from an excel file. However, SDL Multiterm seems to be separate from Trados Studio (boo) and doesn't seem to have a 30 day trial that I can find. If I like the software the company is willing to pay for it but I don't want to commit yet if I can't even try it properly first.

Would it be better to add these terms into my translation memory instead?

There are almost 1000 technical terms in this file and they have 3 sections which look like this.

Abbreviation English Japanese
2D Drawing - 2 dimensional 図面-2次元

2. I have some previously translated files that were outsourced to an unknown company that are in pdfs that I would like to incorporate into my new translation memory I have made. However both the English and Japanese are in the same pdf file.

Should I just open the pdf and translate the file going 1 by 1 copying and pasting and confirming the translations? Seems like a bit of a time waster but not too difficult.

Or could I use winalign and select the same file as both target and source and go from there?

Thanks for any and all help.

Direct link Reply with quote

Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member for the following reason: Please kindly stay on point: the poster's question concerns Studio 2011 and not buying/using other tools. Thank you.

Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 14:05
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Some answers below Oct 4, 2012