Usage of Workbench vs TagEditor
Thread poster: kb1234
kb1234

Local time: 09:53
Oct 6, 2012

Dear all,
I am fairly new to Trados and I need some help on how to use the software. A client sent me a Word document for transaltion and he advises me to use "Word and Workbench and NOT TagEditor.

When I open the file I see a lot of tags, and lots of them right in the middle of words, which obviously does not make sense. Could anyone please advise me on how to properly open and prepare this word file in Trados according to the above instructions?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance, K.

Direct link Reply with quote

Vesselka Raykov  Identity Verified
Spain
Bulgarian to Spanish
+ ...
How to remove tags Oct 6, 2012

Hi kb1234,

Before you start translating, regardless of the software you choose, you have to clean the document, otherwise there are tags, and lots of them "right in the middle of words", as you say.
To do this, I recommend you select all the text, cut and paste without format. It's faster and it saves you a lot of work.

If you prefer to preserve formatting, you have to activate the symbol (¶) and go line by line repairing the entire document.

Nora Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 01:53
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Where are you opening your file? Oct 7, 2012

The fact that you can see tags in the middle of words makes me wonder whether you're opening the file in TagEditor, as this doesn't happen in Workbench.

If you are new to Trados, maybe this can help uderstand the difference between TagEditor and Workbench:

http://noradiaz.blogspot.mx/2012/08/translating-word-and-powerpoint-files.html

[Edited at 2012-10-07 00:52 GMT]

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 10:53
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
You mean Word Oct 7, 2012

When translating in Word you do not see the tags, only the effect they have on the layout etc. In word you see text in italics, not the tags for italics etc.