Oksana Kondakova  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 04:17
Member (2010)
English to Russian
+ ...
Nov 22, 2012

Hey guys,

I want to upgrade from Windows 7 to 8 version on my existing laptop with both Studios (9 and 11) and MemoQ 5 and 6 installed on it. I wonder if anybody had done that and if Windows 8 just "caught up" your existing CATs. Did it work or did you have to install them again or apply licences again?

Direct link Reply with quote

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 23:17
English to Czech
+ ...
No personal experience, but... Nov 22, 2012

Hi Oksana,
I have no personal experience (I plan to stick to Win7 for as long as possible), but it is good practice to install a clean OS on a clean machine.

Therefore, I would return all of my licenses, back up all documents, install the OS on a clean machine and then install all tools from scratch. That's definitely safer.

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
Don't forget... Nov 22, 2012

... if you have upgraded from 2009 to 2011 instead of purchasing a new and separate license then you will probably lose 2009 when you do this. If you completely rebuild, or move computers, you will lose it for sure... if you only upgrade from W7 to W8 I'm not sure what will happen... so potentially the upgrade may not lose the license unless you return it. If you return the 2009 license it will be gone forever.

Regards

Paul

Russian Federation
Member (2010)
English to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! I will post an update on results Nov 22, 2012

Thanks for your comments!

Sure, I will create all the backups possible.

I have 2 different licences for Studios 2009 and 2011 as I need them both. I just wanted to be prepared to any unexpected issues from Windows side or SDL side. I mean - contacting SDL support and letting them know that I'm gonig to upgrade and so on, all that proccess with licences.

Okay, if nobody had done that before, I will be the first:)