Technical Questions Regarding CDATA Embedded Content in Trados Studio 2009
Thread poster: lthurston
Jan 15, 2013

Hello,
I have a couple of quick technical questions regarding the CDATA Embedded Content processing in Trados 2009. I'm new to Trados, but am good with regular expressions and understand HTML / XML quite well.

First of all, are backreferences possible in the Tag Definition Rules, specifically from the end tag to the start tag? This is a somewhat minor point, but the start and end tags don't seem to reliably be associated with the other. If there is a backreference syntax, what is it? It other words, without making a rule for each tag, could I refer to a captured group from the start tag in order to match the appropriate end tag, like this (ignore that there's no slash at the beginning of the end tag, I'm having some issues with this forum's content processing):

Start tag: <([a-z][a-z0-9]*)[^<>/]*>
End tag: </\1[^<>]*>

Of course that doesn't work or I wouldn't be asking. Trados' feedback when I enter that indicates backreference seem like it would work, but would only refer to a captured string in the end tag. I want the capture in the start tag.

The more important question has to do with HTML attributes in CDATA Embedded Content, and whether anyone is aware of a way to make attributes editable. Ideally, the goal would be to make a very small subset of all attributes editable (src, href, title, etc) for all tags. I might be able to do this by modifying the regex for the start and end tag so that it doesn't include anything past the tag name, but that feels hacky and wrong.

If this isn't possible with the CDATA Embedded Content, is there another way to come at this problem? Another Embedded Content option? I guess what I'm getting at is: is this possible with Trados at all?

Thanks for you help!

best,
Lucas

Direct link Reply with quote

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:19
English
Back references in here Jan 16, 2013