Installation problems with Studio 2011 Starter Edition
Thread poster: Pablo Rottenberg
Pablo Rottenberg
United States
Local time: 07:17
English to Spanish
Jan 15, 2013

Hello, newbie here. I am tring to install Studio 2011 Starter Edition SP2 on a Mac. This is an old Mac, running Virtual PC 7 with Windows XP. While installing Studio, it asked me if I wanted to install Microsoft NetFrame. I clicked OK, but after the first 4 files it tells me there was a problem downloading a file, I clicked Retry several times with no results. When I clicked Cancel, the installation stopped.

I copied the URL of the problem file onto my browser window and I got a 404 error: File unknown.

My question is: can I try to download NetFrame separately and will the Studio installer recognize it or is there anything different that I can do?

Thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:17
English
No expert on a MAC... Jan 16, 2013

... and the only advice I have seen relates to installing on newer versions. But it seems worth a try to download and install whatever is being asked for separately if you know where to get it. The logic being Studio hopefully won't go looking for it if it's already there.

Has to be worth a try.

This thread has much advice for MAC users, but may be a different flavour to the one you have installed.

http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/137659-studio_2009_under_parallels.html

Regards

Paul

Steve Kerry  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:17
German to English
Erm... Jan 16, 2013

... get a proper computer? Seriously, used PCs are very cheap nowadays and I think you are flogging a dead horse there, honestly. You will only continue to have problems if you don't update your hardware to something that is "in the ball park".

Best wishes,

Steve K.

Hervelaura  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:17
English to French
Is SDL Trados starter Edition useless ? Jan 18, 2013

Hi everyone,