Multiple translations option in Translation Memory Options
Thread poster: Wei Peng Loy
Wei Peng Loy  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:34
Japanese to English
+ ...
Aug 31, 2004

Hi,

I'm trying to uncheck the "Multiple translations" check box in the Tools tab of Translation Memory Options of Trados FL 6.5. I don't know why but my check box was checked and the check box is disabled, i.e. I couldn't uncheck it even if I want to.

I read that the default option is unchecked. Does anybody know how to uncheck the check box?

Thanks.

Regards
Loy


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:34
English to German
+ ...
Setup option that cannot be changed Aug 31, 2004

Hi Loy,
This is an option that is set when creating a TM - you cannot change it afterwards. To effect that change, export the contents of your existing database, create a new TM and import the data.

But what is your problem with that setting?

Best regards, Ralf


Direct link Reply with quote
 
Wei Peng Loy  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:34
Japanese to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Multiple translations check box unchecked Aug 31, 2004

Hi Ralf,

I see. That means I have to export my old TM, create another new TM with the Multiple Translations check box unchecked and imported the old TM text file into the new TM.

Actually, there's nothing wrong with the selection except that I have a client who wants me to follow his settings on the TM exactly, which had the Multiple Translations check box unchecked. So I thought whether selecting the check box will affect anything in his TM.

If it doesn't, then I'd just leave it as that.

Thanks.
Loy


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:34
English to German
+ ...
That depends on how you exchange data Aug 31, 2004

Hi again,
Actually, there's nothing wrong with the selection except that I have a client who wants me to follow his settings on the TM exactly, which had the Multiple Translations check box unchecked. So I thought whether selecting the check box will affect anything in his TM.

If it doesn't, then I'd just leave it as that.

This depends on how you return your work to your client. The typical reason for requiring specific settings is segmentation - the 'multiple TU' setting doesn't impact on that, nor will there be a problem if you return an uncleaned file.

HTH, Ralf


Direct link Reply with quote
 
Wei Peng Loy  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:34
Japanese to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Leave settings as-is Aug 31, 2004

Hi,

In that case, I feel at ease because I will be returning an uncleaned file to my client.

Thanks again.


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Multiple translations option in Translation Memory Options

Advanced search







TM-Town
Manage your TMs and Terms ... and boost your translation business

Are you ready for something fresh in the industry? TM-Town is a unique new site for you -- the freelance translator -- to store, manage and share translation memories (TMs) and glossaries...and potentially meet new clients on the basis of your prior work.

More info »
WordFinder
The words you want Anywhere, Anytime

WordFinder is the market's fastest and easiest way of finding the right word, term, translation or synonym in one or more dictionaries. In our assortment you can choose among more than 120 dictionaries in 15 languages from leading publishers.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search