Thread poster: Corinne Le Gallic

Corinne Le Gallic  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 08:30
Member (2013)
English to French
Mar 7, 2013

Hi,
I am new to Trados. When I happen to lose the original's text format, how do I get it back to paste in the translation? I can't seem to find a copy format button or anything similar...
Thanks!
Corinne

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 00:30
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Which version? Mar 7, 2013

You need to tell us which Trados you're using, and at which stage you lose the original formatting.
Then someone might be able to help!

Mohamed Mahmoud  Identity Verified
Egypt
Local time: 00:30
Member (2011)
English to Arabic
+ ...
Version -- File format-- Mar 7, 2013

Dear Kindly let us know the version you use and the format of source files

Kindly explain your issue more than this to get the best help

Australia
Member (2013)
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Details on help needed formatting in Trados Mar 7, 2013

I use Trados 2011 SP2.
I am translating a book. Orifignal file is in word.
This happens for instance when the first letter of the original is a large font capital letter at the beginning of a sentence / chapter. If the translation is not matching this letter, I have to delete it to type in the right word. It is at this point that I lose the particular format of this letter.
I suppose my question could just be: how do I change the format (font, font size and colour in particular, of my translated text within Trados)?
Thanks for trying to help!
Cheers,
Corinne

Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:30
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
Quick ways out Mar 8, 2013

One way: ALT+Insert to copy the source segment to the target segment. Overwrite the word with your translation, respecting the formatting of that first letter, and that of the rest of the word. Delete the rest of the copied sentence, and translate it.