Problem with Lookup in TM
Thread poster: Leo van Dijk
Leo van Dijk
Leo van Dijk

French to Dutch
Mar 14, 2013

Hello,

I am new to Studio 2011, but am decided to get the best out of my Trial version so that I will know for sure whether to buy it or not. Now, I am running into a problem that puzzles me and that I really do not know how to solve.

The problem is quite simple to describe: when I open a new document including a TM, the Editor does not automatically fill out all the translations that the TM "knows" . Moreover, choosing Translation > Lookup Translations does not
... See more
Hello,

I am new to Studio 2011, but am decided to get the best out of my Trial version so that I will know for sure whether to buy it or not. Now, I am running into a problem that puzzles me and that I really do not know how to solve.

The problem is quite simple to describe: when I open a new document including a TM, the Editor does not automatically fill out all the translations that the TM "knows" . Moreover, choosing Translation > Lookup Translations does not work either: the translation remains empty and nothing is filled out. Obviously, I have checked that the TM in question contains several segments that are also contained in the text I want to translate.

When I compare my Translation Results pane with some screen shots in official SDL documents (p.e. http://producthelp.sdl.com/SDL_Trados_Studio_2011/client_en/Guides/Translating_and_Reviewing_Documents_QSG_en.pdf, page 18), I notice something interesting: in my case, the name of the TM is NOT displayed in the yellow bar in the Translation results pane , whereas it is in the grey bar just below. Does that mean that when I arrive in Editor my TM is not recognised?