Thread poster: Will Tonini
Will Tonini  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:45
Member (2013)
English to Portuguese
Apr 26, 2013

Hello,

One of my clients sent me a .rtf file that I couldn't open in SDL Trados 2011 (I only have the trial version installed), and I had to spent quite some time figuring out how to open it (easy: open it with Word, save it as .docx and open the .docx in Trados 2011). But I'm concerned that future projects may come from clients that still have 2007/2009(?) versions and I may run into issues if I only have the 2011 version.

I'm about to join the current Trados group buy, but since I'm new to Trados (been using Memsource). There are different packages being offered, and I'm planning to go with the "SDL Trados Studio 2011 Freelance Plus + SDL Trados 2007 Suite Freelance + SDL AutoSuggest Creator Add-on Plus + SDL Certification - SDL Trados Studio 2011: Getting Started for Translators" for US$ 640.

Other packages without SDL 2007 offer "SDL QuickStart" and/or "SDL Certification Exam", and I'm a little confused. Is it worth buying SDL 2007 (without quickstart guide and/or cert exam), or buying SDL 2011 with quickstart guide and cert exam?

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Shai Navé  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 22:45
English to Hebrew
+ ...
I think that you shouldn't Apr 26, 2013

In my opinion you should not invest in Trados 2007, unless the Trados 2007 component of the package is (very) negligible in price. The main reason for that is that Trados 2007 is no longer supported by SDL, and there is no real sense investing in a tool that is already discontinued.

Studio 2011 supports TTX which is the main proprietary format of Trados 2007, so you would be able to work with this file type. The only thing that it doesn't support is bilingual Word files that were produced by Trados 2007 Word plug-in, that you shouldn't work with to begin with because that is not the most reliable way to process documents in Trados.