Very basic Tag Editor questions with Trados 2009
Thread poster: Kurtler

Kurtler
French to English
+ ...
May 8, 2013

I’ve just had my first foray into CAT tools whilst studying and we have been instructed to use Trados and Tag Editor for some work. I’ve heard a lot about the 2007 version and the Studio version when it comes to Tag Editor, but in Studio, is it basically when coloured tags surround the words to ensure the target text is formatted identically? Am I right in thinking it was a separate application in the 2007 version but that it is now incorporated in the 2009 version? When asked to use Tag Editor, is it just to ensure you format the target file correctly, or is there another reason which benefits the client?
I know this may seem incredibly basic, but I’m new to CAT tools and I’m fairly clueless!
Thanks for your help : )

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:07
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Some answers May 8, 2013

Tag Editor is simply the name of a program that comes with Trados Suite 2007. The file format it uses is TTX. That means any file (.doc, ppt, etc.) is converted to TTX so that you can work with it in Tag Editor.

Studio 2009 and 2011 can open and translate TTX files in the Editor window, like any other file type.

When you use Tag Editor you see tags (for formatting, paragraphs, etc.) instead of the actual bold itself.

When you use Studio you can choose whether to see the tags or the formatting, or both.

HTH,
Emma

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 04:07
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Not quite compatible May 8, 2013

SDL Studio is more like SDLX than old Trados 2007. Though you can translate ttx in both but the segmentation differs and certain tags which are visible in Trados are not present in Studio. Trados used to convert Word-files internally to rtf, but Studio does not.

Kurtler
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Tags not appearing with XML file May 8, 2013