SDL Trados Studio Starter 2011: How do I create a TM or is it not possible with the Starter version?
Thread poster: Jo Rourke

Jo Rourke  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:26
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 7, 2013

Hi there,

I'm really sorry if this has already been covered, and if so, please just shoo me off with a link, but I am unsure as to how I create a Translation Memory in the Starter version of Trados. I understand that this version is limited in TUs to 5000, and I believe I can only have one TM at a time, but I was under the impression I could still create a TM. I previously used Wordfast or didn't use a CAT tool at all, so I am a newbie at this! The client has requested that I upload the TM afterwards, so I don't want to keep on with the translation if I'm not simultaneously creating a TM! (If it's possible!)

Thanks and sorry again if I'm repeating another forum post.

Jo

Direct link Reply with quote

Charlotte Farrell  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2013)
German to English
+ ...
Starter Edition is a pain with TMs... Jun 7, 2013

but you can still create them! If you go onto 'open document', select the file you want to translate, select the language combination and then click 'create' and 'file-based TM'. You can then name the TM and choose where to save it. As long as it's the only TM in the list (if not, remove the other one) it should work no problem. If you have trouble let me know and I could try to create a TM for you and send it.

United Kingdom
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Still having problems! Jun 8, 2013