Trados 2011: Failed to save target content: unable to locate original file
Thread poster: Bryan Cahoon
Bryan Cahoon  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 09:07
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Jun 19, 2013

This is my first time working with Trados, so I'm at a loss. I was sent an XLIFF file and a TTX file - the customer said I could use either one, so I worked with the XLIFF document. Do I need something else in order to save the target file? I've already pressed F8, and the file comes up as having no errors. Is there something else I should do?

Direct link Reply with quote

Canada
Portuguese to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Answer not needed immediately, but still wanted. Jun 19, 2013

I have been in contact with the client, and she will accept the bilingual file, but in case I run into this problem again, it would be good to know what I need to do/have different. Thanks for any responses.

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 17:07
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Source file Jun 19, 2013

Bryan Cahoon wrote:

I was sent an XLIFF file and a TTX file

Were you sent a source file?

Canada
Portuguese to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Just the two files I already mentioned Jun 19, 2013

No, I wasn't, just the 2 files that I mentioned - I was wondering if this was what the problem was, and I'm assuming by your question, that it was - if so, thanks for the response!

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 17:07
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Solved! Jun 19, 2013

No source file = no target file.

By the way, the client should send you the source file, not just so that you can produce a target file, but also because it's very important to see the context of what your translating.

Orrin Cummins  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 00:07
Japanese to English
+ ...
Agree Jun 19, 2013

Emma Goldsmith wrote:

No source file = no target file.