Translation memory doesn't work
Thread poster: BVDB

BVDB
Netherlands
Local time: 05:25
Jul 15, 2013

Hi,
I'm new to SDL and i have a problem whith the translation of a document.
I imported a *.doc file into my SDL as usual, but it seems that SDL does not reconize the words as it should.

For example the word "steam" that is used more than once in the document is not found. I translated several times now, but it still doesn't translate it in the rest of the document. Is there something i need to do to get this working or is is possible that it is a problem inside my word document?

IrimiConsulting  Identity Verified
Sweden
Member (2006)
English to Swedish
+ ...
TM works with segments (sentences), not single words Jul 15, 2013

All TM programs I know of split the files into segments. One segment usually equals one sentence, or one title, or one table cell or similar chunk of information.

A single word in a document is usually only a part of a segment. You can use the concordance function (RTFM) to search for "steam". If segments containing "steam" have been translated and stored in the TM, you'll be presented with a list of those sentences from which you usually can deduce the meaning.

TM programs are also called CAT tools, meaning "Computer Assisted Translation". Note that it's not automatic -- a human person is still needed for the translation, although most CAT tools contain various tools for automation.

BVDB wrote:

Hi,
I'm new to SDL and i have a problem whith the translation of a document.
I imported a *.doc file into my SDL as usual, but it seems that SDL does not reconize the words as it should.

For example the word "steam" that is used more than once in the document is not found. I translated several times now, but it still doesn't translate it in the rest of the document. Is there something i need to do to get this working or is is possible that it is a problem inside my word document?

Bernard Lieber  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...