Trados QA Checker is not working properly?
Thread poster: cross8308

cross8308
South Korea
Local time: 04:47
English to Korean
+ ...
Jul 18, 2013

Ok..So I may have made some errors on Trados, as I'm still new to this.

But here's my question.

When I set the QA checker to detect punctuations, so that the source and target ends with the same punctuation, check trademarks, etc. It does not seem to work.

So I checked the pro-z forum to actually open the project and set so it shows up in the option, but still doesn't work.
I tried setting the option without opening the project as well, but it still does not work.

Also, when I let it check for trademark characters, it cannot detect them as well.

The trademarks were added via indesign glyphs.

Is this a Trados bug, or is Trados just not that compatible with adobe indesign IDML files?

Could anyone help me out here?

Thank you

tokyobritish
Japan
Japanese to English
+ ...
Please clarify Jul 19, 2013

What languages are you working in?
Can you post some example text?

cross8308
South Korea
English to Korean
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Languages and Sample Text Jul 19, 2013

The company I work for is working in approx 40+ Languages, but the error is happening in all the languages.

Here's a sample text.
(From EN to TR)

EN: The available capacity may change when you upgrade the device.
TR: Cihazı yükselttiğinizde mevcut kapasite değişebilir.

When I delete the period in the target sentence, confirm and then run Verification, in a perfect world, Trados should be able to detect the punctuation difference.

But when I run it, it does seem to catch all the other errors like "Target and source is identical", "Target was confirmed without corrections", etc.

But that TU, I know the puncuation is wrong, as I did so deliberately, no warnings show up.

Could anyone give me some answers to what's going on?

Bernard Lieber  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:47
English to French
+ ...
QA Checker Jul 19, 2013

Hi,