Noura Tawil
Noura Tawil  Identity Verified
Syria
Local time: 17:01
Member (2013)
English to Arabic
Jul 20, 2013

Hi,
I have Studio 2011 SP2, and I use it to translate from English into Arabic (a right to left language). And, as my questions suggest, I'm new to CAT tools all together.

1) In Studio, when translating a .docxsdlxliff file with tables in it, then saving it as .docx, the columns on the right shift to the left and vice versa.
Explanation:
A client sent me a word file with tables in it, the LEFT column contained the English source in red color, and the Right column c
... See more
Hi,
I have Studio 2011 SP2, and I use it to translate from English into Arabic (a right to left language). And, as my questions suggest, I'm new to CAT tools all together.

1) In Studio, when translating a .docxsdlxliff file with tables in it, then saving it as .docx, the columns on the right shift to the left and vice versa.
Explanation:
A client sent me a word file with tables in it, the LEFT column contained the English source in red color, and the Right column contained the exact same English text in black color. My job was to replace the black text on the right with its Arabic translation. The purpose is for the non Arabic web developer to know exactly what goes where.

Steps:
In Studio, whenever I reached the left column segments (which are in red) I used "Copy source to target".
When all the left column segments were done, I found the right column components (in black) in the segments below, and translated these into Arabic.
I saved the file as .docx, but when I opened it in MS Word, I found that the left red column went to the right, and the right black column went to the left!
Any idea how should I process the file within Studio to maintain the file's layout?