Why do people still refuse Studio 2009 and later and stick with Tag Editor?
Thread poster: pcs_MCIL
Sep 11, 2013

I must confess I am not a heavy user of Trados, but most of the time I was required to use the newer version (side-by-side). Since that has been around for a while now, I am very surprised when I get requests for projects that specifically needs to be done with Tag Editor in 2013!

I used Tag Editor less than 10 times in my whole life and I found it extremely painful compared to the new CATs with a side-by-side view and more features.
So why do people still like to stick with Tag Editor?

Older TM can be easily converted to the new *.sdltm format, so what's so good in Tag Editor?

Angie Garbarino  Identity Verified
Member (2003)
French to Italian
+ ...
Tag editor is user friendly Sep 11, 2013

Girino wrote:
.....what's so good in Tag Editor?

I have been using tag editor since 2003, I was always always able to solve any problems myself and very quickly. It is very intuitive.

SDL 2009 is not difficult ok, but sometimes some error cannot be solved and I hate to be forced to search in the forum for solving problems.

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 03:13
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Why TagEditor? Sep 11, 2013

Girino wrote:
I used Tag Editor less than 10 times in my whole life and I found it extremely painful compared to the new CATs with a side-by-side view and more features. So why do people still like to stick with Tag Editor?

Well, firstly, I think people prefer to stick to what they know. Secondly, not everyone prefers side-by-side view. Thirdly, TagEditor is FAST and Studio is slooooooooooooooooooooooow. When I use Studio I feel like someone must have come in behind my back and stolen gigabytes of memory from my computer, or severely underclocked my processor, or something.