So do I install Trados 2011 or 2014?
Thread poster: Elvira Alves Barry

Elvira Alves Barry  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:29
Member (2007)
Portuguese to English
Oct 3, 2013

Sorry if this sounds like a basic question, but maybe others are also wondering.

I've been working successfully with Trados 2009 for the last four years. Now, I've just received the new package containing 2011 along with 2014, and trying to figure out the best way to make the transition. Do I just skip over 2011 now and learn 2014? I guess 2009 won't be needed anymore. Plus what do I do with Trados 2007, which I never used much, since I learned the Studio format. Can I just delete the 2007 from my computer?

I know a lot of people have been using the 2011; are there any compatiblility issues with 2014?

Thanks for your imput.

Elvira

Enrico C - ECLC  Identity Verified
Taiwan
Local time: 01:29
Member (2011)
English to Italian
+ ...
My opinion Oct 3, 2013

Elvira Alves Barry wrote:

Sorry if this sounds like a basic question, but maybe others are also wondering.

I've been working successfully with Trados 2009 for the last four years. Now, I've just received the new package containing 2011 along with 2014, and trying to figure out the best way to make the transition. Do I just skip over 2011 now and learn 2014? I guess 2009 won't be needed anymore. Plus what do I do with Trados 2007, which I never used much, since I learned the Studio format. Can I just delete the 2007 from my computer?

I know a lot of people have been using the 2011; are there any compatiblility issues with 2014?

Thanks for your imput.

Elvira

Keep 2007 as it can still do some tricks Studio can't.
Remove 2009 which is starting to be outdated
Skip 2011 as it's just part of the promotion
Install 2014 which has quite a few improvements.

That's it.

[Edited at 2013-10-03 15:38 GMT]

Member (2007)
Portuguese to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks, Enrico Oct 3, 2013