What do they mean by cleaned and uncleaned file?
Thread poster: Marie Hélène AFONSO

Marie Hélène AFONSO  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 21:34
English to French
+ ...
Nov 26, 2013

Hi everybodyicon_smile.gif
I received an assignement from a new client and they ask me to deliver a cleaned version ("without track changes") and an uncleaned version of the file ("with track changes") as well.
Could anyone explain me what this means?
I am a beginner with Trados Studio and I am somewhat puzzled. They also require that translators work with Tageditor, which I don't have. Can I deliver these clean and unclean files anyway?
Thanks in advance for your help!

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Clarify with your client Nov 26, 2013

You've been given incompatible instructions.
Tag Editor can't handle track changes.

A clean file is usually the target language file, i.e., your translation.
An uncleaned file is a bilingual file, usually in Workbench format, or as a ttx (Tag Editor) or .sdlxliff (which is the file you work with in Studio).

I suggest that before you start, you ask your client whether you can deliver the translated file (clean file) and your .sdlxliff (bilingual or unclean), or your TM in tmx format.

If they agree, then you can start Googling to see how to export your TM in .tmx format (it's very simple).

Marie Hélène AFONSO  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Emma Nov 26, 2013

for taking the time to reply.
Have a nice day!

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Probably they mean uncleaned RTF Nov 26, 2013

Marie Hélène AFONSO wrote:
I received an assignement from a new client and they ask me to deliver a cleaned version ("without track changes") and an uncleaned version of the file ("with track changes") as well. ... They also require that translators work with Tageditor, which I don't have.