Stefan Stefanov
Stefan Stefanov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 04:49
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Dec 5, 2013

Hello,

I upgraded to Trados 2011 very recently and this is my first project in it. And I have encountered a problem:

When I transfer numbers that include a dot separator from the source text into the target (by copying the source or by simply typing the numbers), after I confirm the segment, the red X sign appears next to the segment and the message is: "Error: Number is missing in target segment or is not properly localized".

Neither is th
... See more
Hello,

I upgraded to Trados 2011 very recently and this is my first project in it. And I have encountered a problem:

When I transfer numbers that include a dot separator from the source text into the target (by copying the source or by simply typing the numbers), after I confirm the segment, the red X sign appears next to the segment and the message is: "Error: Number is missing in target segment or is not properly localized".

Neither is the number missing, nor is there any need for localization as they are simple numbers, e.g. "4.1" as the number of the section, or

If necessary the daily dose may be gradually increased by small amounts to 25 mg, 3 times daily or 75 mg once daily, according to efficiency and tolerability (see Section 4.8 Adverse medical reactions and Section 5.2 Pharmacokinetic properties).

This translation triggers 4 errors of the above type (obviously in "4.8" and "5.2").

So, my question is, can I do something about this?

[Edited at 2013-12-05 20:33 GMT]

[Edited at 2013-12-05 20:34 GMT]
Collapse

RWS Community
RWS Community
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:49
English
Yep... Dec 5, 2013

The problem is that the target is expecting 4,1 and not 4.1. Studio has no idea this is a reference rather than a number.

So, I would complete the translation and then change them afterwards. Based on your example you could do a regex search and replace in the files like this.

Search for: