Bringing translation memories from Trados 2009 to 2014
Thread poster: Elvira Alves Barry

Elvira Alves Barry  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:45
Member (2007)
Portuguese to English
Jan 31, 2014

I've been using Trados 2009 successfully for several years, and recently upgraded to 2014. So far it's been a positive experience!

Right now I'm having a problem bringing my translation memories over. Since my clients generally ask for a tmx, my working method up to now has been to create a new TM for each project. So now I'm looking at a very large number of TMs, generally labeled by job title or number. It's worked well so far, but I'm trying to come up with a better system (e.g., by language) to harness all past translations.

I tried following Paul Filkin's excellent video on using the "upgrade TM" feature to bring all the files over, but seem to have ended up with two files on my desktop (one with the TMs and the other with the files converted to tmx), but nothing is showing up in 2014, so I must be missing something.

Do people generally dump all of their project TMs into one big TM for that language combination or, considering there are likely to be repetitions, is it better to go into each TM and see if it needs cleaning up, remove duplicates, etc., before trying to integrate them in the new system? This seems to be a bit like trying to eat an elephant, but maybe there's an easier way to do this.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Elvira

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 15:45
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
There are tools for converting at SDL Feb 1, 2014

Look for OpenXchangeApps or something like that. You should find them under your SDL-menu readily installed.