Reviewing MS Word format translations in Studio 2014/SDL XLIFF Converter?
Thread poster: Renate Schipper

Renate Schipper  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:57
English to Dutch
+ ...
Feb 26, 2014

Hello,

I am fairly new to Studio 2014 and I sometimes outsource translation work. When I receive the translations, in Microsoft Word format, I want to review them in Trados 2014 (using the TM’s and the termbase I’ve made).

So I create a new project, add the source files and then... don't know how to add the target files.
Until now I have copied and pasted from Word into the target segmentsicon_wink.gif Surely there has to be a better, and quicker way? I have also tried the SDL XLIFF Converter for MS Office, but cannot convert simple Word files with that, unless I missed something.

To my surprise I haven't been able to find the answer to this rather simple question yet.

Can anyone here please point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

[Edited at 2014-02-26 19:30 GMT]

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:57
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Align documents Feb 26, 2014

You're looking for the "align documents" feature. Go to Welcome>home and click on Align documents.
You'll be asked for your source and target files and the result will be a TM.

Then, if you want to review the translation in Studio, create a project with the source file and your TM.

United Kingdom
English to Dutch
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
This worked, thanks! Feb 27, 2014

I would've never considered using "Align" for this, so I really appreciate your help, Emma.
The files were not perfectly aligned, so I might use LF Aligner next time.

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
LF Aligner Feb 27, 2014

Renate Schipper wrote:

The files were not perfectly aligned, so I might use LF Aligner next time.

Yes, I do too, while waiting for SDL to add an editor to its aligner...

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Member (2003)
German to Dutch