Thread poster: Sian Cooper

Sian Cooper  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:56
French to English
+ ...
Mar 4, 2014

Hi, all, hoping for some help on this.

I'm on 2014. I have a Termbase that is working just fine within the editor, terms are being recognised, no problem. But the search facility does not want to play.

I'm quite familiar with switching between the Term Recognition and Termbase Search tabs, so the other threads that I've found on this subject did not help! (but I apologise if there is something out there I didn't find).

It's only 150 terms. I created it yesterday from Excel through Glossary Converter. I have done this and shared TBs successfully with other translators plenty of times before, although working in 2011 only.

I've gone into the search settings and reduced the recognition % to 60%; I've left the search depth and repetition thresholds as-is. I'm sitting looking at a term ('logros') that is recognised in the editor (red line above it); that will happily prompt for the right target term when I type the first letter; but I cannot get any response in search. I have tried from 3 to 6 characters (i.e. it doesn't recognise anything from 'log' to 'logros').

Now, it recognised one term search once, 'man'. But since then it will not recognise any new ones.

I tried it in 2011 (created a project with same TB), same prob. I tried closing both 2011 and 2014 and just reopening Trados (2014), but no go.

Before I ended the initial Trados session I was in, if I clicked on View term details (from the Termbase search window) - it displayed the details for the term it had once previously found (whilst still displaying 'No results available' in the search window).

Tried it in MultiTerm, no prob. - indeed, selecting fuzzy search against 'logr', I got, as I would have expected, several other terms as well, and that was at 65% recognition. So I tried reorganizing it, but still no help.