Suzanne Deveson  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 09:26
Member (2007)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Mar 12, 2014

Hi,

I'm using Studio 2011 for the first time to translate a small document with a generous deadline. I have previously edited two files in Studio without any problems. Now I have to translate a file and I find that Control Enter doesn't move me to the next sentence. The status of the segment remains 'edited' (just the pencil showing). I created a TM myself and imported a tmx file into it, confirming the default settings when going through the wizard. I don't know whether that is anything to do with it, but any additional information may help.

This is probably something very basic, but I'm very new to the tool, so I would appreciate your help.

Many thanks in advance!

Kind regards,

Suzanne

Direct link Reply with quote

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Shortcut? Mar 12, 2014

If you've already been using the shortcut, there's not reason for it not to work now, unless you've changed it without realising it.
Go to general options (File>Options>Keyboard shortcuts>Editor) and scroll down to "Confirm and move to next segment". This should be set to Control+Enter.

Other profiles (SDLX, Trados) have other shortcuts for this action (Enter and Alt+Add), so it's possible that you've switched to another profile.

Edited to add: In Studio 2011 the path to shortcuts is Tools>Options>Keyboard shortcuts>Editor. The path above was for Studio 2014.

[Edited at 2014-03-12 15:06 GMT]

Suzanne Deveson  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2007)
English to Dutch
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks - problem solved! Mar 12, 2014

Hi Emma,

Thank you so much for your help! For some reason, the shortcut listed there was Ctrl + Alt + Enter. I don't know why it was like that. I certainly didn't change it deliberately, but I changed it back to Ctrl + Enter and it's working now.

Thanks!!

Olav Karlsen
Norway
English to Norwegian
+ ...