Autosuggest and Autotext
Thread poster: Worder Company
Worder Company
Russian Federation
Local time: 00:36
Russian to English
+ ...
Mar 14, 2014

I have just created a new autosuggest dictionary and I have never used autosuggest or autotext before.

I need to add phrases from the file I am translating, so that when I need to type in the same phrases they will be prompted by autosuggest or autotext.

For example, I have two segments:

Segment 1: The model adjustment procedure enables to derive an adjustment function
Segment 2: Model 1 enables to derive an adjustment function.

So, how do I add the phrase 'adjustment function" to the auto-suggest dictionary or auto-text? Are there any shortcuts to add phrase to augosuggest dictionary or auto-text? Is it possible to automatically add to the auto-suggest an approved segment after it has been approved? What can I do if I have a file that has 6 000 segments, but I want to add it to my autosuggest dictionary?

Are there any alternative for auto-prompting on the open exchange?

Thank you for your answers.

Direct link Reply with quote

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:36
English
Adding phrases... Mar 16, 2014

... is probably better added to Multiterm and then they will be available through Auto-Suggest. Autotext is monolingual so just looks up based on the letters you type as opposed to being clever about what’s in the source. But adding to Autotext on the fly is also easy. I think the default shortcut is Alt+F7, but you can find this on the Advanced ribbon so using Alt+a=x will also do the trick.

Alternatively you could play with AutoHotkey... not OpenExchange but it is free and it will work with any application : http://wp.me/p2xDjK-oR

Regards

Paul

Christopher Girsch  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:36
Japanese to English
Autotext only gives the term ONCE in a TU Jan 15, 2015

I'm going NUTS with 2014.