How do I translate a complete website in Trados Studio 2011?
Thread poster: Ward Whittaker

Ward Whittaker  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 14:56
Portuguese to English
Apr 3, 2014

Can I download the website directly into Studio somehow. I've never done a website in Studio before. Any tips appreciated.

Direct link Reply with quote

Roy OConnor
Local time: 19:56
Member (2009)
German to English
Try a grabber Apr 3, 2014

You could try a website grabber, such as the free HTTrack Website Copier. This supplies you with the HTML files which you can load into Studio as a project. You will probably need to tidy the translated website up a bit, but it is probably a lot better than cutting and pasting.

Pieter Beens  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2011)
English to Dutch
Other options Apr 3, 2014

HTTrack is definitely worth a try.
However, you will also download every other files, like documents, CSS (markup) files and anything else you do not need. Furthermore it is difficult to make an accurate quotation on the basis of that.
If the website has an CMS you might consider to use a plugin for translation (like WPML for WordPress) and translate in the back-end. You can also ask the site owner for the text in a Word document or for another CAT tool compatible file..

Success!

Pieter

Jane Proctor  Identity Verified
France
French to English
Easyling Apr 4, 2014

Easyling.com offers another platform which I believe is compatible with Trados.
If you use it I'd be interested to hear how you get on.
Good luck!

Ward Whittaker  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 14:56
Portuguese to English
TOPIC STARTER
If only..... Apr 4, 2014