ITD project, Studio 2011
Thread poster: EirikWS

EirikWS  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 13:37
English to Norwegian
+ ...
May 3, 2014

I was recently given a big assignment for which I will be required to use the so-called ITD format. I am unfamiliar with this and have not been able to work out how it works after a little tinkering around with it, so I thought I'd ask you. I'm using SDL Trados Studio 2011. The project as it was sent to me is supposed to be in this format and I am expected to save it and return in it in ITD, so how do I do it? What I got was a .zip file; Trados won't let me open that. I've unzipped it and saved it to a folder, but none of the files look like obvious candidates for a project file. One of the folders bears the name of the target language and contains twelve or so .itd files, so I suppose this is where I have to start. I'd be very grateful if someone could walk me through this. I'm still pretty new to Trados.

I'll also need to make a TM for my language.

Norway
English to Norwegian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Can't edit May 3, 2014

OK, so I managed to open the IDT file and create a TM. But when I open one of the files for translation in the editor, it won't let me make any changes; when I try to modify or delete anything, I just get the Windows system noise that sounds a bit like a muted bell. What am I doing wrong? Moreover, the source text is duplicated in the target fields, ie, you get the same text on both sides. I would be very grateful if someone could help me out.

IrimiConsulting  Identity Verified
Sweden
Member (2006)
English to Swedish
+ ...
ITD = SDLx file format May 3, 2014

You should create a project and TM and import the file, then translate as usual. When done, choose Batch tasks > Finalize and look in the project folder and the subfolder named as the code of the target language (eg en-GB for British English), you'll find the translated and exported ITD file there.

Norway
English to Norwegian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER