Thread poster: A.K Janjelo

A.K Janjelo
Lebanon
Member (2013)
Arabic to English
+ ...
May 24, 2014

Hello all,

I am new in using Trados studio 2014 and I would like to confirm with the experts here about the following steps.
I am a project to translate that consists of 3 word files, I need to deliver them one after the other based on certain time table, the client asked for a: 1- Clean file, 2-Unclean file and 3- a TMX.

1- To start the translation I went to Open> Translate single document > I chose the source and target language > press ok.

2- I had no TM since its the first time I use the software so I created one named it TM Sym. Yet in the TermBase view I see a blank page with "No open termbase".

On on "Translation Memories" to the bottom left, I did chose the TM I created, yet there is no filter and I see the phrase "No translation units to display" But I guess this is normal since its all new.

3- I started translating by using the "Editor", I type the translation to the right column and after each line is finished I press "Confirm" and move to the following line.

4- After finishing the translation, I click "Save us" to save a clean file and "Save target as" to save an unclean file.

5- In order to have a TMX file, I click on "Translation Memories" and Press "Export", chose a location and i'll have the TMX that the client wanted.

My 2 questions are:
1- Did I miss anything in my steps?

2- While translating, how can I tell the system to memorize this term so it recognize it if it got repeated again? Or does it do that automatically and saves it to the TM I created.

Thank you

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:21
English
On your workflow May 24, 2014

Hi,