Disable "Multiple translations for identical source" - Studio 2014
Thread poster: Szymon Cegielka

Szymon Cegielka  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:21
English to Polish
+ ...
Aug 20, 2014

Hello,

I am NOT using the "Add as new translation" function but always confirming segments using "Confirm and Move to next unconfirmed segment" - however whenever I change a unit for which a translation is present and then check that segment, I get presented with 2 options - both the current and previous version...
This may sound as a small matter, however the additional time it takes to check AGAIN already checked and edited segments on different projects adds up to significant amounts of time wasted...
How can I avoid adding edits as new translation units instead of the present one being updated?


Luca Tutino
 

Rossana Triaca  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 10:21
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
Default Behavior Aug 21, 2014

What you want (a single TM entry after confirmation) is actually the default behavior, so you must have a different setting in place. Perhaps you're using more than one TM, and for some reason only one of those is now being updated? (so you're getting older hits from a TM that is read-only).

If that's not the case, and if you didn't customize the settings too much, I'd just reset the default values for the config (both for the project and Trados itself).


 

Luca Tutino  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 14:21
Member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
not in my case Oct 3, 2017

Both 2014 and 2017 seem to keep adding multiple translations whenever I hit my shortcut for "Confirm and move to next unconfirmed". This is slowing me down immensely!

NB I have just upgraded to 2017 and did not customize anything.



Rossana Triaca wrote:

What you want (a single TM entry after confirmation) is actually the default behavior, so you must have a different setting in place. Perhaps you're using more than one TM, and for some reason only one of those is now being updated? (so you're getting older hits from a TM that is read-only).

If that's not the case, and if you didn't customize the settings too much, I'd just reset the default values for the config (both for the project and Trados itself).


[Edited at 2017-10-03 22:51 GMT]


 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Disable "Multiple translations for identical source" - Studio 2014

Advanced search







memoQ translator pro
Kilgray's memoQ is the world's fastest developing integrated localization & translation environment rendering you more productive and efficient.

With our advanced file filters, unlimited language and advanced file support, memoQ translator pro has been designed for translators and reviewers who work on their own, with other translators or in team-based translation projects.

More info »
Anycount & Translation Office 3000
Translation Office 3000

Translation Office 3000 is an advanced accounting tool for freelance translators and small agencies. TO3000 easily and seamlessly integrates with the business life of professional freelance translators.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search