Trados & MS Word - how can I display the translation only?
Thread poster: Dover
Dover
English to Russian
+ ...
Dec 20, 2004

Hello, I am terribly sorry for bothering you, but I am new to TRADOS and I have this problem: I have been translating and then all of a sudden my Word program opened a double way of viewing the text like it was already checking option. Now I have text opened in both languages. Tutorial said that the way to get rid of it is to do the Clean Up operation but the translation is not finished yet and it's too early to clean up. Could you please help me to understand what to do? Maybe I have opened this option and now all I have to do is to cancel this option? But I am sorry to say I don't know how. Thank you very much for your attention.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2004-12-20 14:57]

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:33
English to German
+ ...
Toggle the display of non-printable characters Dec 20, 2004

Hi Dover,
I take it you activated the display of non-printable characters - presumably by clicking on the icon that looks like a "P" upside down. In fact, it's strongly recommended to work with this bilingual display, as you might inadvertently damage tags if you're not displaying them.

HTH, Ralf

mónica alfonso  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:33
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Go to Tools in Word Dec 20, 2004

View, uncheck the option Hidden text.
Hope this helps you.

Dover
English to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Dec 20, 2004

Ralf Lemster wrote:

Hi Dover,
I take it you activated the display of non-printable characters - presumably by clicking on the icon that looks like a "P" upside down. In fact, it's strongly recommended to work with this bilingual display, as you might inadvertently damage tags if you're not displaying them.

HTH, Ralf

Thank you for replying - I think I did. And thank you for your suggestion. I think I will work this way from now on.