Reimporting Studio 2014 package - urgent
Thread poster: Tansy

Tansy  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:18
German to English
Dec 10, 2014

I have an error message "dependency file not found". Searching this forum indicates that the problem is due to my Norton 360 deleting temporary files. I cannot save the target file.

I'm new to Studio 2014. The most logical thing would seem to be to reimport the package and run through it all again getting 100% matches. But I'm a bit nervous about doing so. When I'm about to reimport the original package Studio asks "You have already imported this package. Do you want to import it again?" Could someone please confirm that I won't delete my translation if I reimport the package (it's a big job!)

Thanks

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
If you reimport the package... Dec 10, 2014

... then this will overwrite what you have done. You will be able to pre-translate from your TM but if you used track changes, need to see the original match values, added comments, then these will all be lost. You will end up with a file full of 100%/CM matches from your TM.

One way to avoid this is do this:

1. Copy the sdlxliff files from your target language folder in the project and put them somewhere safe
2. Delete the project
3. Open the package again
4. Replace the sdlxliff files in the target folder of the new project with the ones you safely saved

That should work.

However, before you do all that please note that having this message is not necessarily a problem. It just means that you cannot create the target files and this may be because the dependency file was not given to you in the first place! This is often just an information message because Studio sees that the file is not available. You should still be able to work on the translations and create a return package.

So worth checking this before you do anything drastic.

Regards

Paul

Tansy  Identity Verified
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! Dec 10, 2014