Import texts from Oracle database to Trados Studio and back after translation
Thread poster: Hana Netrefova
Hana Netrefova
Czech Republic
Jan 20, 2015

Hello colleagues,

I am a Trados Studio beginner. As a project manager I would like to ask you about some tips with importing existing data into Trados and back to the primary database. I am a user of Trados Studio 2014 Professional.

I have a large database (Oracle) with Czech/English/Slovak translations, with increasing number of Czech (source language) texts.

1. Firstly, I want to export the bilingual text pairs (CS-EN, CS-SK) into Trados Translation memory. Is the TMX the appropriate format for that?

2. Once a time I need to collect new arising Czech text in my database, import them into the Trados Studio, pretranslate them and send to my English/Slovak translators. With the source texts I need to keep also comments for translators (coming also from the primary database) plus some additional atributes necessary for the back-import into my database - eg. ID of the text record. How can I ensure that? Is there any format reccommended?

3. After I receive the translated texts from my translators, I'll update the Trados Translation Memory. Then, I'll export new Translation units via TMX format for updating my database. Still the question - how do I keep the record ID to know what record in my database I shall update? What if the database record is splitted in several Translation units according to segmentation rules?

My Oracle database remains to serve as a primary database. Is this suggestion of workflow with meeting my conditions reasonable? Would you ever faced issue like this one? I know the issue is very complex but for the first time I'am trying to describe it as a whole.

I very appreciate your opinion.

Hana Netrefova

Direct link Reply with quote

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:02
English
The best solution... Jan 27, 2015