Trados Studio 2014 Starter - what is the use?!
Thread poster: Wouthan (X)
Wouthan (X)
Wouthan (X)  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 23:22
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Jan 22, 2015

Hi, I just bought the SDL Trados Studio 2014 Starter (1 year), which I learned is a scaled down version. As I knew before buying it, but I never knew to which extent it is scaled down. It seems to me that there are hardly any features available. So far, I am very dissapointed.

I am quite new to translating and planning to start as a freelancer and bye time turn professional and perhaps make it a full time job. At this point I cannot afford a full version, or rather I choose not inve
... See more
Hi, I just bought the SDL Trados Studio 2014 Starter (1 year), which I learned is a scaled down version. As I knew before buying it, but I never knew to which extent it is scaled down. It seems to me that there are hardly any features available. So far, I am very dissapointed.

I am quite new to translating and planning to start as a freelancer and bye time turn professional and perhaps make it a full time job. At this point I cannot afford a full version, or rather I choose not invest that much money, right now.
Therefor I which to learn more about THIS very version of SDL Trados Studio

Now my first question; What use is this version? I mean, MS-Word and my knowlegde would do just as good, wouldn't it? (Please tell me where I went wrong?)

Second question, Could anyone, give me a roughly and chronological explaination of to use this version, please?
I would also appreciate usefull link to tutorial and such...

(Please, do not discuss which CAT-program is better, thanks)
Collapse

Starter is Good for Project Packages Jan 22, 2015

The Starter version of Studio 2014 only really benefits translators that receive Project Packages from their clients (SDLPPX/PPX files).