OzanP
OzanP
Türkiye
Local time: 00:29
Russian to Turkish
+ ...
Feb 18, 2015

Greetings to all,

I am new to Trados and trying to invoice one of my client's request. No matter how I carefully checked every corner of Trados windows, I could not figure out how many unique words there are in my text. Since the text is short I was able to count it manually. As I did so, I found that there are 168 words which is equal to what Trados shows on its reports. So it must be the number of total words, on the other hand, I need to know only the number of unique words. I us
... See more
Greetings to all,

I am new to Trados and trying to invoice one of my client's request. No matter how I carefully checked every corner of Trados windows, I could not figure out how many unique words there are in my text. Since the text is short I was able to count it manually. As I did so, I found that there are 168 words which is equal to what Trados shows on its reports. So it must be the number of total words, on the other hand, I need to know only the number of unique words. I used a web-based word count tool and it came up with the result showing there is 140 unique words and 168 total word. So then, can I conclude that Trados does not have the ability to count only unique words?

I made google search but could not find any result specific to my question so I will be happy if one of you guys give me a hand on this.

Thank you
Ozan
Collapse

Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 23:29
Member (2010)
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
Try using the Analysis tool Feb 18, 2015

I think what you want, is to use the Analysis tool. You don't say what version of Trados you use, but in Studio 2014 you can right click the project file in the Projects view, and choose Batch Tasks > Analyse files.

I am not totally sure what you mean by "unique words", but the analysis would give No match, so I think that's what you are interested in.

[Edited at 2015-02-18 17:25 GMT]

OzanP