Thread poster: Jacques DP

Jacques DP  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 05:17
Member (2003)
English to French
Mar 8, 2015

Hi there,

Everytime I have a glossary match on a term which is in plural form in source text (but singular form in the glossary), I am offered the singular form and can't use it.

For example my glossary has:

dictionary attack ---- attaque par dictionnaire

but my source text has:

Dictionary attacks are carried out using programs...

So I start translating and write (^ is the insertion point):

Les a^

At this point auto-suggest offers

attaque par dictionnaire

But if I accept it I get

Les attaque par dictionnaire^

and so I would need to go back to the end of the second word

Les attaque^ par dictionnaire

in order to add an "s" (mark of plural) and then go back to end of line.

Les attaques par dictionnaire^

But since I am a professional linguist and writer I type fast, and that means doing all this is not worth it and it's faster to write it anew. (And I lose something because I need to make the decision as well.)

It would be a huge gain for me if Studio could, with a minimal grammatical understanding, realize that we have the plural form of the glossary match in source text and offer the plural form of its glossary translation.

I understand that it would require language-specific knowledge.

But is it really extraordinary to expect minimal language-specific knowledge from a computer-assisted translation tool? I think not!

By the way do you know of another CAT tool that would be able to do that?

Thank you.

[Edited at 2015-03-08 11:13 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
Well... Mar 8, 2015