Trados 2011: Getting rid of tags of an ALREADY translated file
Thread poster: Ignacio Piedra

Ignacio Piedra
Argentina
Apr 6, 2015

Hello to everyone.
This is my first message in this forum. It's my first time using SDL Trados 2011 and I'm having a terrible time.
There is a work I have to hand in tomorrow, and I have already finished translating, but there seems to be hundreds of errors related to tags, and every time I try to export the file I get a message saying that "An error occured while converting fields back to Microsoft Word format: Possible field(s) deletion".
I have read that you can clean the tags from the source file, but I can't start all over. What should I do in this case?

Please help T_T

Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 05:28
Member (2010)
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
Tags in source the problem? Apr 6, 2015

Are you sure it's the tags in source that are the problem? Sounds strange. Usually it's when there are differences between the tags in source and target that you get the problem.

Have you tried running Verify? In 2014 you would Open thee Review tab, and click the Verify button on the ribbon.

If the problem actually is the tags in source, I would try to run CodeZapper (search for CodeZapper with Google) and reimport the document. Removing tags from a source document that is already imported doesn't sound like a good idea to me at all. How would you be able to decide which tags would be necessary for export and which not? Better to clean up the document and run a pretranslate on it with the translation you have already done.

You would want to export your document to a virgin TM first, though, and then run the pretranslate with this new TM, I would think.

Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:28
Finnish to French
Alternative to CodeZapper Apr 6, 2015

Roy Oestensen wrote: