What is Workbench?
Thread poster: Andrea Chetti
Andrea Chetti
Andrea Chetti
Argentina
Local time: 20:20
English to Spanish
Apr 10, 2015

Hello! I' was wondering if someone could tell me how workbench works with Trados 2011 or 2014. I'm still a student at university and I'd like some guidance.
Thank you in advance!
Andrea

Walter Blaser
Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 01:20
French to German
+ ...
These are two different things Apr 12, 2015

"Workbench" refers to the previous generation of CAT tools from Trados (Trados 2007 and earlier). This generation of software was replaced in 2009 by the new product called "SDL Trados Studio 200x" (the current version is 2014 SP2).

Workbench is still being used by some people although it is not supported anymore. Unless you need to address interoperabilty issues between the two systems, there is no real need for you to learn about the old Workbench system.

Walter

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Two workbenches Apr 13, 2015

ChettiAndrea wrote:
I was wondering if someone could tell me how Workbench works with Trados 2011 or 2014.

Well, there is Trados Workbench which formed part of Trados 2007 and earlier, and there is Idiom Workbench, whose files can mostly be opened by Trados 2011+. Do you know which one you're dealing with? Can you be more specific about what the problem is?

Andrea Chetti
Andrea Chetti
Argentina
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
The person who asked to use Workbench didn't specify. Apr 15, 2015

Hi, Sammuel! Thank you for your reply. The problem was that I was asked to translate using Workbench,