Upgrading translation memories in Studio 2014 SP2 - Remove button is missing
Thread poster: Beate Lutzebaeck

Beate Lutzebaeck  Identity Verified
New Zealand
Local time: 09:35
Member
English to German
+ ...
May 3, 2015

Hi there,

The functionality for upgrading legacy translation memories in Studio 2014 SP2 no longer includes the "Remove" button to remove existing fields, even though SP1 still contains this function.

This must be a bug, as the Online Help that comes with Studio 2014 SP2 describes this function:

"Fields Tab
The Fields tab lists the existing custom fields in the translation memories that you are upgrading.
...
To remove a field, select the field and click Remove. Removing a field deletes all corresponding fields values from the translation units as well."

I would include a screenshot in my post to illustrate the absence of the Remove button if I knew how to upload the screenshot.

Has anyone come across this problem, is SDL aware of it, and will this be rectified in Studio 2015?

Thanks in advance,
Beate


Direct link Reply with quote
 

SDL_Steve  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:35
Member (2014)
English to Arabic
Upgrading translation memories in Studio 2014 SP2 - Remove button is missing Jul 24, 2015

Hi Beate,

Sorry for the delay-

The functionality you mention is available in both Studio 2014 SP2 and Studio 2015 – rather than using a remove button to remove the fields you do not want to be upgraded all you need to do is select the field you want to remove and then click on the ‘Delete’ key on your keyboard – these fields will then be removed from the upgrade process.

Kr

Steve


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Beate Lutzebaeck  Identity Verified
New Zealand
Local time: 09:35
Member
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Only works for "Text" type fields Jul 27, 2015

Hi Steve,

Thank you for your suggestion. However, this works only for custom fields of the “Text” type, not for fields of the “List” type. For “List” type fields, hitting the Delete key on the keyboard only removes the content of the field, but not the field itself. If I navigate away from the field (by clicking on the "Finish" button for example), I get the message "Please specify a field name".

Using "Delete" on my keyboard to remove “List” type fields only deletes the field name but not the field itself (and not the corresponding field values from the translation units either).

My belief that the lack of the "Remove" button is an unintended glitch is also borne out by the fact that the Online Help that comes with Studio 2014 SP2 describes the Remove button function (as I pointed out in my initial post):

"Fields Tab
The Fields tab lists the existing custom fields in the translation memories that you are upgrading.
...
To remove a field, select the field and click Remove. Removing a field deletes all corresponding fields values from the translation units as well."

Any thoughts?


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Upgrading translation memories in Studio 2014 SP2 - Remove button is missing

Advanced search







SDL MultiTerm 2017
Guarantee a unified, consistent and high-quality translation with terminology software by the industry leaders.

SDL MultiTerm 2017 allows translators to create one central location to store and manage multilingual terminology, and with SDL MultiTerm Extract 2017 you can automatically create term lists from your existing documentation to save time.

More info »
TM-Town
Manage your TMs and Terms ... and boost your translation business

Are you ready for something fresh in the industry? TM-Town is a unique new site for you -- the freelance translator -- to store, manage and share translation memories (TMs) and glossaries...and potentially meet new clients on the basis of your prior work.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search