SDL upgrade to 2014 not valid
Thread poster: Sindy Cremer

Sindy Cremer

Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Jul 8, 2015

I signed up for a TGB because I want to upgrade from Trados Studio 2011 to Studio 2014.

The TGB website offers an upgrade from Studio 2011 to Studio 2014 http://www.proz.com/tgb/977

I do not want to upgrade to Studio 2015.

Today I received a call for payment.

Nowhere on the website am I given an option to upgrade to Studio 2014 and yet, I am still forced to pay € 195 for an upgrade that I did not sign up for.

These things really p me off, excusez mon français.

I know I can't do anything about this - I'm just a translator and SDL holds all the keys to my upgrade, but I feel ripped off. Hence this rant.

ghislandi  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:31
English to Italian
Information from SDL Jul 8, 2015

Dear Sindy,

I am from SDL.

We currently offer the upgrade to Studio 2015. We have closed sales of Studio 2014 on 30th June after we launched our new version. This has been our standard practice for some time. If you signed up to a TGB before 30th June you would have signed up to a 2014 upgrade which then would have closed or converted into 2015.

Potentially you might have received an email from Proz.com rather than us - this could happen if you signed up to the TGB. I believe they send reminders. This would explain why there is no order in our system.

I have tried to look in your account and I can not see an order - but perhaps I am not looking in the right place - you can contact me directly if this is the case.

We do not contact people for payment - if you pay by credit card obviously the payment is instantaneous. If you choose bank transfer you have 30 days to pay for the license, but we would normally not chase you down.