Trados 2015 Apostrophy problem
Thread poster: karinegay
karinegay
English to French
Aug 12, 2015

Hello,

I am a English into French translator on Trados 2015.

When I write an apostrophy and then the following letter, the cursor goes back one letter to the apostrophy.
If I type l'u (by the time I type the u, the cursor is back before the letter).

And the same problem occurs when I go back to a translation in which there is an apostrophy.
When I click in the translation to modify the text, the cursor directly goes to the place where there is an apostrophy.

I never had this problem before.

Direct link Reply with quote

Riccardo Schiaffino  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:57
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
It's a bug caused by a new feature Aug 12, 2015

It's a bug caused by the automatic substitution introduced in 2015. Until they fix it you are better off switching the automatic substitution feature off. Studio should then return to the previous behaviour (ie.e, no smart quotes or apostrophes, but also no problem of incorrect placement of the cursor after the apostrophe is typed).

Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 08:57
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
So it's not just me... Aug 13, 2015

I agree it is a pain - hope there is a fix for it soon!

Claudio Nasso  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 08:57
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
I never faced this problem Aug 15, 2015

I regularly use SDL Studio 2015 (12.0.4811.0) since its official release and I never had to face this problem.

All “stright quotes” (single or double, i.e. ' and ") are correctly automatically converted to “smart quotes” (i.e. ‘ ’ “ and ”) while typing without any problem at all and the cursor remains where it is supposed to remain... and nowhere else.