Workbench tools on word do not operate
Thread poster: shule
shule  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:41
English to Turkish
+ ...
Mar 8, 2005

I have been using Trados 5 Freelance since 2001. While transalting a file I came across with the corrupted character problem. While trying to overcome this problem by modifying styles (as I was suggested by a colleague) I have lost Trados function completely. None of workbench tools on the Trados menu will work, neither the shortcuts. There is no error message. I have tried with different Tms in different documents but no help. When I press open/get in a completely new docuemnt with only one sentence the word makes the following changes in reverse oder as I see from Undo:

ParagraphFormat.LineSpacing
ParagraphFormat.LineSpacingRule
ParagraphFormat.SpaceAfter
ParagraphFormat.SpaceBefore
Selection.Delete
Selection.TypeText
Font.Reset
Range.InsertParagraphAfter
ParagraphFormat.LineSpacing
ParagraphFormat.LineSpacingRule
ParagraphFormat.SpaceAfter
ParagraphFormat.SpaceBefore

However no visible change is made in the text.

For those who will advise me to seach the forums and TW users let me tell that I have searched all of them. I have tried all the suggestions; recreated template files (both trados and normal template), searched for bookmarks, disabled term recognition, disabled virus tool, exported my Tm and imported t back, cretaed a new TM, run Workbench from the folder instead of the shortcut.... Lastly I have decided to remove Trados and re-install it but the program is not removed, neither re-installed. It says "installation was interrupted before it was completed." I am using Office XP on Windows 98.

I seems that Workbench and Word has a communicaiton problem in some way. By the way, Wordfast functions without any problem. I wil appreciate any suggestions other than I mentioned above.

Thanks in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Hynek Palatin  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 00:41
English to Czech
+ ...