https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/303092-bilingual_or_multilingual_termbase_in_trados_multiterm_2015.html

Bilingual or Multilingual Termbase in Trados Multiterm 2015
Thread poster: Katya Danova
Katya Danova
Katya Danova
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:12
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Jun 13, 2016

Hi,

I am fairly new to the Trados Studio and I am currently trying to figure out how Multiterm works.

I am fluent in English and Greek and would like to translate from both languages (not simultaneously), into my native language, which is Bulgarian.

My question is when creating a Termbase memory is it better to create a multilingual, and if yes, does Trados automatically recognizes from which language I am translating and finds the term for me, or is it
... See more
Hi,

I am fairly new to the Trados Studio and I am currently trying to figure out how Multiterm works.

I am fluent in English and Greek and would like to translate from both languages (not simultaneously), into my native language, which is Bulgarian.

My question is when creating a Termbase memory is it better to create a multilingual, and if yes, does Trados automatically recognizes from which language I am translating and finds the term for me, or is it better to create bilingual termbases for each second language instead. Thank you!
Collapse

Walter Blaser
Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 12:12
French to German
+ ...
Termbases are by default "multilingual" Jun 13, 2016

Hi Katya

Unlike translation memories, MultiTerm termbases are always multilingual. This means that an "entry" contain the terms for all the languages you have chosen to be included in your termbase.

Whenever you open a termbase within a project in Studio, Studio will automatically check that the language pair of your Studio project is covered by the languages in your termbase and also automatically adjust the settings so that the two correct languages are display
... See more
Hi Katya