LBeach  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:43
Member (2016)
German to English
Aug 15, 2016

(WARNING: complete newbie translator!)

Hello,

I'm playing with TRADOS for the first time, and I'm trying to figure out how to use reference files. I have a few translations that I loaded into TM-Town and aligned, and TM-Town can create glossaries out of these. Now, I'm not sure if TRADOS uses "glossaries" (are these different from "termbases?"), but I thought I would give it a try. The problem is, I can't figure out what file type I'm supposed to download. The options are TMX, XLIFF, XLSX, CSV (UTF-16LE BOM), and CSV (UTF-8). Does TRADOS Studio use any of these? Incidentally, I don't seem to have MultiTerm. I guess that's a separate purchase.

Also, once I download the file, I'm not sure what to do with it. Is there a folder I should put the file in?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.
-Laura

[Edited at 2016-08-15 20:54 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Frank Zou  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 15:43
Member (2016)
Chinese to English
+ ...
xliff Aug 16, 2016

I know trados supports this file type. you can open it with trados studio. If it's biligual, it can be saved in your trados TM and used for future reference. I don't know anything about TM-TOWN.

United States
Member (2016)
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
Location Aug 16, 2016

Thanks. Do you know what folder I should place the glossary in?

Frank Zou  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 15:43
Member (2016)
Chinese to English
+ ...
termbase Aug 16, 2016

LBeach wrote:

Thanks. Do you know what folder I should place the glossary in?

Sorry, I thought you were trying to import sentences.