How transform to htm files in TagEditor?
Thread poster: Johanna Rebillon

Johanna Rebillon
Local time: 22:33
French to Swedish
+ ...
Mar 28, 2005

I got some word files to translate from a client, who specifically told me to use Tag Editor to translate them. She wants me to deliver in formats ttx and htm. Why htm? Is there some extra feature I have not discovered about Tag Editor (I am new to Trados!), and what is the smartest way to transform the word files so they are able to be translated in Tag Editor? I am LOST, I have asked the client, but I have not recieved an answer yet. I feel at the same time kind of stupid, so if some kind soul would like to help me out it would be great. Thankyou. I use Trados 6.5 Freelance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Are you sure they're *Word* files? Mar 28, 2005

Hi Johanna,
To deliver HTML files after having translated them in TagEditor, you would need HTML files to start with...

So, are these files really Word files?

You could try to save them as HTML in Word, but as Word is not an ML editor, that's not a good idea...

Best regards,
Ralf

Hynek Palatin  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
+ ...
Wait for the client's answer Mar 28, 2005

The client's instructions make sense only for HTML files, as Ralf explained. So I suggest waiting for clarification. It's possible that the client gave you misleading instructions.

xxxBrandis
English to German
+ ...
if a .doc file has to be converted into a .htm file do as follows Mar 28, 2005