Thread poster: Liny

Liny  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:03
English to French
+ ...
Feb 7, 2017

Dear all,

I really don't know if it's possible... And I was wondering if any of you had already experienced this situation before.

One of my new clients requires Wordfast in order to start a collaboration. They do not provide a licence and my CAT tool is SDL Trados 2014.

I'm really interested by this new job opportunity, but I already invested in Trados and I don't want to invest more in another CAT tool.
I'm still learning the ropes when it comes to Trados. But I wanted to know if there was any way to work with Wordfast files using Trados...
Is it possible to convert (without any compatibility problem) sdlxliff Trados files to TXML Wordfast files, and vice versa for instance?

Thanks a lot!

Andriy Yasharov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 15:03
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
Wordfast Pro 3 Feb 7, 2017

Wordfast Pro 3 can be used for free and is almost fully functional in free mode for an indefinite period of time. There are a couple of limitations, though. Firstly, you may not exceed 500 translation units in any one active TM, but if you exceed the limit, you can create another local TM. This limitation does not concern the size of a file. A txml file may have hundreds of segments, but you can still import it in Wordfast Pro and edit the file without committing segments into a TM because of a 500-segment limit.
Secondly, you may not connect remote TMs. Otherwise, the program is fully functional. You don't have to invest in it and you can use it for any txml-based projects.
If this does not interest you, I am sure there's an app for handling txml files in Studio in SDL AppStore.

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 14:03
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Liny Feb 7, 2017

Liny wrote:
One of my new clients requires Wordfast in order to start a collaboration.